Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

geekerella

Publisher: Quirk Books

Publication Date: April 4, 2017

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Retelling

Rating: 4/5 4 stars

Plot:

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Review:

This book was beautiful! It has such a wonderful message for everyone. You are special. What makes you happy is special and important.

I loved so many things about this book! The characters were wonderful and so unique. I really enjoyed how much the characters obsessed over their fandoms. It reminded me so much of people’s love for Star Wars, Star Trek, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter etc. Things like that bring people together and it was greatly demonstrated in this book.

Darien was probably my favourite character. It was so cute to watch how much this role mattered to him and the struggles he went through, that no one really knew or understood…except for Elle. She understood his feelings. My heart hurt for her and her story. Her passion for Starfield and how it meant so much to her and her dad was beautiful to see.

The reason I couldn’t give this book 5 stars was because of the the ending and some minor confusion I had with the story. I enjoyed the ending, however I felt as though it was very rushed. In my opinion, everything that the story was leading up to happened within 10 pages. After reading almost 300 pages to get there, I wanted more! I also wish that the relationship ended more clearly. Some may disagree with me, but I wished that she explained how the relationship carried on within the 8 months. I was slightly confused with how it was defined. Maybe the point was that it wasn’t defined, although then I wish that that was stated clearly. In the end, I’m the type of person who wants a bit more of the relationships in books instead of just The End.

I also felt somewhat confused with some minor storylines. Once again, maybe I’m just missing something, however as an example, I still don’t quite understand the entire backstory of what happened between Elle and James before.

There was also a lot of things happening very quickly that I felt could have developed more first. I don’t want to spoil anything, so I won’t be specific, however the sudden relationship between two of the side characters at the end seemed to almost come out of nowhere.

Even with these issues though, this was such a cute and fun read! I would definitely recommend to anyone who likes retellings, contemporary or enjoys the love of fandoms!

*I received an arc from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*


I hope you enjoyed my review for Geekerella by Ashley Poston! Let me know in the comments if you’ve read this book and what your thoughts were! Don’t forget to follow my blog and as well as my other social media which are linked on the sidebar.

Leave a comment